Doll Review: Swim Class Frankie Stein

20140214_132823c-marked

Next up on my long, long list of dolls to review is Swim Class Frankie Stein.  This is a doll I wasn’t planning on getting at all, despite the awesome hair – I’m just not in love with her stock (or any of the Swim dolls’), but when tweedle dee and tweedle dum ooak doll I saw her on clearance at Justice for only $6… who could resist?  [side note: it’s amazing how many $6 Monster High dolls I found in the States!]
Swim Class is an officially nameless budget line consisting of two subsequent waves of beach-themed dolls in swimsuits; Frankie is part of the second wave.


Frankie is the only doll I have from this line, though I would have loved to get my hands on Holt too, just ’cause he’s a boy and his signature doll is hard to find.  I actually had a chance to get him from another collector a while ago, but didn’t have the money when he was available.  *tear*
There was a little surprise when I removed Frankie from the backcard – a shark in the waves.  It’s a cute detail, but it wasn’t visible at all when the doll was in the box.
And here she is, out of the box:
One of the gimmicks with the Swim Class dolls is that they all have some kind of vinyl accents on their swimsuits.  It’s not a gimmick I’m a fan of in general, cause the vinyl is so stiff and not something a real person would have on their clothes outside of a fashion runway.  I have to admit it’s kinda cool on Frankie’s swimsuit though; somehow it seems more appropriate on her than the other dolls.
Frankie is wearing a strapless yellow, white & black swimsuit that’s printed with nuts and bolts, and the vinyl accent is a clear blue lightning bolt shaped piece that goes all the way up the swimsuit and wraps around the back of her neck like a halter top.
In addition to the vinyl-accented bathing suit, this Frankie doll comes with yellow sunglasses, two blue bracelets, a plastic yellow tote bag, a “towel” that matches her swimsuit, and translucent yellow pumps.  The towel is really cheap, and I don’t care for the tote bag at all.
The shoes are cute when you look really close, but from any kind of distance they just look like yellow blobs – they’re recasts of Sweet 1600 Frankie’s shoes , and this is not a sculpt that works in a single translucent color.
The bracelets/armbands are cute, with the whole staples/stitches theme, but it would have been nice if they were not identical to each other – it kinda looks like she’s wearing bracers.  Who the hell wears the same bracelet on both arms?
My favorite thing about this doll is her hair – it’s awesome, and I like it even more than Ghoul Spirit Frankie .  The blues are the exact same shade on both dolls, but I really love the black and white striped look of the rest of this doll’s hair; I’m always a sucker for b&w stripes..
The blue in this Frankie’s hair is all in the back, and her bangs are different than most – instead of being rooted across the front of her forehead, they’re rooted in a side part and then combed diagonally forward.  It would be pretty weird on a real person, but it works on the doll.  Overall, the rooting on my Swim Class Frankie seems to be quite good, with the small exception of a wonky hairline in the back.
I think I would have liked to see Swim Frankie with a more natural lip color, whatever that means for her.. maybe a color that’s a couple shades darker than her skintone..  But then, a natural lip color wouldn’t really go with the bright yellow eyeshadow that coordinates so nicely with her outfit.
I don’t know why I didn’t notice it when she was in the box (not that it would have mattered, as she was the last one of these dolls on the shelf at the store), but this Frankie doll has some black marks and smudges on her thighs, including some that seem to be set into the seams of the plastic, and some blurry stitches.  The marks must be the same ink that her stitches are printed with, because they are not budging; I tried scrubbing her leg, but no dice.  I might be able to get the marks off with a magic eraser or paint remover.. hopefully.
Aside from that one flaw, this Frankie doll is pretty awesome.  I’m not a huge fan of her stock, but the doll itself is one I want to play with and redress – she has the best hair of all the Frankie Stein dolls to date and her faceup is pretty cute too.  Definitely worth the $6 I spent!
For the original version including any supplementary images or video, visit Doll Review: Swim Class Frankie Stein

Leave a Reply

